Educated by Tara Westover

Sale price Price $22.99 Regular price Unit price  per 

Educated

by Tara Westover

ALA Alex Award

Amazon.ca Best Book of the Year

American Library Association’s 2019 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction

Audio Publisher’s Association “Audie” Award

Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers for Non-Fiction

IBW Book Award

Indie Choice Awards

Indigo Best Books of the Year

Indigo's Best Books of the Decade

John Leonard Award for Best First Book

LibraryReads #1 Pick

Los Angeles Times Book Prize

Minneapolis Star Tribune

National Book Critics Circle Award

PEN/Jean Stein Award

Publishers Weekly Best Book

Slightly Foxed Best First Biography Prize

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize

TIME Magazine’s Best Nonfiction Books of the Year

Washington Post Best Book

Wellcome Book Prize

About the Book

For readers of The Glass Castle and Wild, a stunning new memoir about family, loss and the struggle for a better future

#1 International Bestseller

Tara Westover was seventeen when she first set foot in a classroom. Instead of traditional lessons, she grew up learning how to stew herbs into medicine, scavenging in the family scrap yard and helping her family prepare for the apocalypse. She had no birth certificate and no medical records and had never been enrolled in school.

Westover’s mother proved a marvel at concocting folk remedies for many ailments. As Tara developed her own coping mechanisms, little by little, she started to realize that what her family was offering didn’t have to be her only education. Her first day of university was her first day in school—ever—and she would eventually win an esteemed fellowship from Cambridge and graduate with a PhD in intellectual history and political thought.